Please forgive me Mr. van Gogh!

So just like what I said in my previous post…these days I’ve been quite busy producing my own ‘paintings’…with the help of so many paintings apps (I can’t even draw…so to paint would be out of the question 😆 ) that I downloaded into my smartphone and tablet. 

These painting apps are very easy to use as they offer many ‘templates’ based on the painting styles of many well-known painters such as van Gogh, Picasso, Kandinsky, Seurat, and even Mondrian. Just pick one photo, choose one template…and voila…you transform yourself into Monet or Rousseau. Yes…even if you don’t know how to hold a pencil correctly like me…LoL…you can just suddenly creating many beautiful sketches and drawings. Amazing…isn’t it?

So,  I am sure many of you are very familiar with  this painting below, which was one of the most well-known paintings in the world, a masterpiece created by the very famous van Gogh himself.

The famous Starry Night painting by van Gogh

As I saw this style offered as one of the templates in one of my painting apps…of course I clicked it right away. And lo and behold….*holding breath…voila…this is how my picture looks like. 

As you can see van Gogh’s style is copied here almost without improvisation.

Surprise? Yes…of course. However, the similarity of the style was eerily too pronounced that it makes me feel a bit guilty. Strange, huh? 

So to make me feel better…I decided to choose another template…with less obvious painting style. And I must admit that my new ‘painting’ has made me feel a lot better…not only because it is also very beautiful…but most importantly it does not make me feel as though I lost my respect to those great painters. Here it is. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

