Another form of true love?

“Still, despite all this, traveling is the great true love of my life. I have always felt, ever since I was sixteen years old and first went to Russia with my saved-up babysitting money, that to travel is worth any cost or sacrifice. I am loyal and constant in my love for travel, as I have not always been loyal and constant in my other loves. I feel about travel the way a happy new mother feels about her impossible, colicky, restless, newborn baby–I just don’t care what it puts me through. Because I adore it. Because it’s mine. Because it looks exactly like me. It can barf all over me if it wants to–I just don’t care.” – Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love.

People often search for his/ her true love in this world, thinking that you can only find your true love in another human being or another creature at best (dogs, cats, horses). I love this quote because it makes me think that maybe….our true love exists not as a person or persons, but in the form something entirely different. Perhaps like Gilbert, my true love, the love of my life exists in the form of my passion for traveling. I always love traveling, although I haven’t really travel much, and she’s right. I can always love traveling no matter what happens in the travels themselves, no matter how travels treat me, no matter how bad – long hot days, car broke down, I got sick, dirty and dusty roads, smelly trains, crowded ships, cheap motels, long flights – I never end up hating them. Like Gilbert, I am loyal and constant in my love for traveling, I love it for what it is…surprises and all. It feels so free…the feeling of being able to love something without asking/ wondering/hoping for something in return. That you can simply just love it…with all your heart, without worrying that it may hurt you…you just don’t care. I must admit that it really feels great!

travelling-around-the-world

Leave a Reply

