Finding Your Way…

I heard for the first time this beautiful song when I was watching ‘Penelope’…an unusual fairy tale kind of movie. I know it was just an ordinary chick flick…:-)…a girlie movie…which was not meant to win an Oscar or anything…yet I found the message quite profound. Funny how you learn a lot from a simple and trivial romantic comedy…:-D. In a similar theme with Shrek, the ‘princess’ in this movie did not act like a damsel in distress and waiting for a prince/ a knight in a shining armor to save her. She saves herself! And in a way she saves her prince back…:-).  And she did that, first and foremost, not by asking the mirror who the fairest of them all or seeking approval from others about her appearance, but by loving herself no matter what other people say. It’s true: It is not so much the power of the curse, it is more about the power YOU give to the curse…

Christina Ricci, true to form, is in her best playing a quirky and unique character…and of course…the chemistry between her and James McAvoy…(Gosh…what is it with him that makes my heart flutters and my cheek blushing…LoL) is unmissable. McAvoy is also perfect in delivering a unusual and unlikely ‘prince’ in this lovely movie.

The song, Waking Life by Schuyler Fisk, is the perfect choice for this movie’s soundtrack. It’s about someone who inspires you to be a better person. Someone who’ll always be there…even though he/ she is not here…somehow you always find her/ him in you mind…all the time. Never leave you alone…always guiding you…providing you with ‘footprints’ to follow your way through…:-).

Waking Life by Schuyler Fisk

There’s an anchor that’s pulling on my heart,
And it’s deep in the water but it can’t take me down.
Tracin’ faces with fingers and we’re just the same as we were,
Just our eyes never found what I see now,
That my feet are on the ground.

Chorus:
Cause I’m not lost, just looking for footprints.
I’m taking it, one step at a time and I’m getting by.
By the way,
It’s you on my mind,
It’s you on my mind.

And here comes the night pulling puppet strings on my heart again,
Shows me all of this time I’ve been blind to this waking life.
Now I…see it everywhere.

Chorus:
Cause I’m not lost, just looking for footprints,
Yeah.
And I’m takin it, one day at a time and I’m gettin by.
By the way.
You’re still on my mind,
You’re still on my mind.

I…can’t…see…you but I know you’re here,
I, know you’re here.
I, know you’re here.

I’m not lost, just looking for footprints.
I’m taking it, one step at a time and I’m getting by.
By the way.

I’m not lost, just looking for footprints.
And I’m takin’ it, one step at a time and I’m gettin’ by.

And you’ll still on my,
Oh you’re still on my mind,
You’re still on my mind,
Oh you’re still on my mind,
Oh you’re still on my mind.

I can’t see you but I know you’re here…I know you’re here…It’s you on my mind…You’re still on my mind…

Pnelope poster

2 thoughts on “Finding Your Way…

  1. This movie is magnificent! and the song gorgeous too. I am from Mexico and I didnt see the movie until last year. In my case is strange because I am a male person 44 years old and I realize most the people who like this movie are young women. Christina Ricci is the perfect bride for a fairy tale. The message is a kind of moral about the respect we have to do in ourselves.

    • Hi, thank you for your comment…:-). I am glad that you like this movie too. This is one of my favorite movies of all time…haha. Yes, precisely, the theme of this movie is quite empowering. A modern fairy tale.

Leave a Reply

