When we say goodbye…

We can ask and ask but we can’t have again what seemed ours forever — the way things looked … a remembered voice, the touch of a hand, a loved face.  They’ve gone and you can only wait  for the pain to pass.
J. L. Carr; A Month In The Country (1980)

I’ve known this song for quite a long time, often featured in many war themed movie such as Shining Through (with Michael Douglas and Melanie Griffith) or romance movie such as The Notebook, yet being a non-English speaker, usually I just listened to this song, admiring the beautiful singer who sang it, either Billie Holiday or Etta James or Sinatra or its many other covers, without grasping the real meaning of its lyrics. I just realized now how beautiful its lyrics are.

When we say goodbye to someone, often we think it means we’ll never see each other again. Yet, this song says otherwise. Saying goodbye is only a state of mind. If we don’t want to say goodbye, yet because of circumstances we have to, don’t give up on it. Because just like this song suggests, we can always see that person anywhere, in all those familiar places. If we don’t really want to say goodbye, then don’t worry, we’ll still be seeing them anywhere we want them to be, hopefully smiling and waving back at us, ’cause most importantly we’ll always be seeing them in our minds and in our hearts….:-).

Enjoy this beautiful version of this song by Linda Eder, one of my favorite singer.

I’ll Be Seeing You

Cathedral bells were tolling and our hearts sang on;
Was it the spell of Paris or the April dawn?
Who knows if we shall meet again?
But when the morning chimes ring sweet again…

I’ll be seeing you
In all the old familiar places
That this heart of mine embraces
All day and through

In that small cafe
The park across the way
The children’s carousel
The chestnut trees, the wishing well

I’ll be seeing you
In every lovely summer’s day
In everything that’s light and gay
I’ll always think of you that way

I’ll find you in the morning sun
And when the night is new
I’ll be looking at the moon
But I’ll be seeing you

I’ll be seeing you
In every lovely summer’s day
In everything that’s light and gay
I’ll always think of you that way

I’ll find you in the morning sun
And when the night is new
I’ll be looking at the moon
But I’ll be seeing you

Leave a Reply

